## ALBERT ROSS - 14 July 2016

## THE TWO BALL CHAMPIONSHIP - Round 1

A great turnout of 213 members and visitors took to the course on Saturday to compete in the Maitland Two Ball Championship. Although the course was a little heavy after recent rain the scores were remarkably good, with some outstanding scoring returned across two Divisions in this first round of the Championships.

The Division 1 Scratch winners were Wayne Wilson and Adam McKenzie with a scorching score of 65 points. Major Nett placegetters in Division 1 were the same pairing of Wilson and McKenzie with a 62 in first place, then came Matt Godsell and Craig McLoughlin on 64 and in third place, Muree visitors Rhys Soper and Mathew Gurr also on 64, after a coutback was applied.

The Division 2 scores were also very close with Scratch winners Will Stoneman and Bowen Small returning a card of 78 to earn their 1st placing.

The Nett top three grouping was led in by Rick Geissler and Darrell Horn with a score of 62 which was just good enough after a countback to push Steve Thornton and Chris Motum into 2nd spot on the same score and in third place was Will Stoneman and Bowen Small with 63.

The Ball Competition went down to 69 on a countback. Our Nearest the Pin winners at the 13th were Ryan Richard in A grade, Chris Lucas in B grade and Darrell Horn in C grade. The nearest shots at the 17th hole went to Brett McNally in A grade, Peter Adams in B grade and that man Darrell Horn, capping off a huge day out, by taking out his second NTP award for the day, in C grade.

Another truly remarkable effort on the day was carded by young Trent Park when he knocked his second shot in on the 9th hole for a magnificent Eagle.

The Thursday competition was played in variable weather conditions, which offered up a bit of everything on the day, but despite this, a very good field of 101 players still turned out for the Stableford event. The A grade winner was Mark Elkin with 38 points followed in by Ian Jeffrey on 36 with a countback required to press John Bennett back into third spot on the same score. The ever consistent Michael Sarquis easily won B grade with a fine score of 38 points which meant Ken Brown had to settle for 2nd place after carding 36 points and then came Garry Minotti on 35 points in 3rd place. The C grade scoring was a very close affair with all three placegetters returning 34 points! After a countback was applied, Rick Geissler was declared the winner with George Strong second and Charlie Farrow third. The Ball Competition went down to 30 points on a countback. Nearest the Pin winners were Stephen Moore at the 13th and Hayden Gulliver on the 17th. Our Sunday Stableford was taken out by David Wilson with a fantastic score of 42 points with Clayton Small Runner Up on 39 points. Nearest the Pin winner was Jeremy Sinclair at the 13th. The ball competition went down to 30 points on a countback.