

< IF THE PLAYER SHOWN HERE PRESENTS THEMSELVES TO THE PRO-SHOP BY SATURDAY 4th November HE or SHE WILL RECEIVE 2 BALLS

ALBERT ROSS

30th October 2017

On Saturday the 29th over two hundred players turned out to compete in the **Bruce Humphries Memorial Trophy**. The Humphries family have kindly donated to this day for many years to perpetuate his name.

The winner of the cup and voucher and with the day's best score of 43pts was Clayton Small. Clayton played off a plus three handicap and had seven under par.

Tim Lancaster with 41pts was the runner up in A grade, Dave Bennett ran third with 38pts and the well-dressed Ken Wells picked up third spot with 37pts on a countback from Michael Robbins.

Greg Riches won the B grade division with 41pts and was closely followed by the B grade champion Paul Fairweather with 40pts. Daniel Upward nudged out Warren Johnstone to run third with both of them scoring 39pts. Dave Parry picked up the last B grade voucher with his 38pts.

Brett Ireland got away from the rest of the C grade field with 41pts and win the major voucher.

Barry Halliday and the veteran Don Bottrill both had 38pts with Barry having the better countback. Rick Lantry did the same to the old stoker Charlie Farrow to run fourth with 37pts and Charlie got the last voucher in that grade.

The nearest pin winners on the 13th were Darren McKenzie, Dave Kirkman and Barry Halliday. On the 17th they were Peter Bloomfield, Gil Norrie and Rick Grabau. The ball competition went to 32pts on a countback.

The popular Thursday Pro Shop competition did again attract a large field with some visiting golfers enjoying the course in great condition. The A grade winner and a Killara visitor was Kieran Jones with 41pts. The consistent and again best dressed Ken Wells ran second with 39pts on a countback from James Saxby, David Leary ran fourth with 38pts from Allan Watts with 37pts.

Les Edwards had a welcome return to form to win B grade with 42pts,Stephen Moore with 40pts ran second from Don Denny with 38pts. George Strong and Brian Jones both had 37pts with George having the better countback.

John Widera had the days best score of 43pts to win the C grade division. Peter McAtamney ran second on a countback from John McLeod with the scores of 42pts.David Rooke with 40pts ran fourth from Tom White with 39pts.

Ken Wells again featured to claim the nearest the pin on the 13th and on the 17th the left hander Ian Jeffery had the bragging rights there. The ball competition went to 33pts on a countback.

On Sunday the Heritage Motor Group conducted the annual Holden Scramble and the winners were Dave Curry, Steve Knowles, Darren Eager and Peter Griffen with 53 5/8.

Second place went to Ian Richardson, Mark Unicomb, Rod Darcy and Barry Mungovern with 54. Third place went to Adam Roy, Paul Champion, Josh Riches and Martin Osmond with 54 1/4.